Featured News & Articles

For SMU running back Zach Line, the awards and accolades keep rolling in. Now, the junior has been named to the watch list for the Maxwell Award, which is awarded every year to America’s outstanding collegiate football player. The news was first reported by smumustangs.com.

During the 2010 football season, Line rushed for 1,494 yards, which is second all-time in SMU history behind only Eric Dickerson. That total was good for 11th in the nation and landed Line on the All-Conference USA first team.

Another former SMU running back also won the Maxwell Award in the past: Doak Walker, whom the Heisman Trophy is modeled after, claimed the award back in 1947. Last year’s Maxwell winner was Auburn quarterback Cam Newton.

The Maxwell award has been given out since 1937. The trophy is named after sportswriter Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell.

Recognize 4891 Views
Related Posts