Featured News & Articles

Another two SMU football players received honors today but these two play on opposite sides of the ball. Senior defensive end Taylor Thompson was named to the Watch List for the 2011 Bronko Nagurski Trophy while senior offensive tackle Kelvin Beachum was nominated for the 2011 Outland Trophy Watch List.

The Bronko Nagurski award is given annually to college football’s best defensive player by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) and the Charlotte Touchdown Club. Thompson was named to the first-team All-Conference USA last year after starting all 14 games and posting 32 tackles and 4.5 sacks. 

The offensive line doesn’t rack up stats or fame but they’re arguably the most important piece of the offense. And in June Jones’ high-powered Run n’ Shoot offense, the importance of the offensive line can’t be understated. And Kelvin Beachum is the anchor of the Mustangs’ offensive line.

Beachum has started every game since his arrival on the Hilltop and has twice earned All-C-USA honors. This summer, Dave Campbell’s Texas Football named Beachum has the top offensive lineman in the state of Texas. The Outland Trophy is given each year to college football’s best interior lineman.

The SMU Mustangs kick off the 2011-2012 season down in College Station where they’ll take on the Texas A&M Aggies on September 4.

All statistics courtesy of smumustangs.com.

Recognize 4787 Views
Related Posts